To my sweet sister Luisa.

You tell me you admire my patience.

I imagine you wonder how I came to be this way.

The path is long, winding and strenuous.

I can tell you, because I have walked it.

Sometimes the pain is so intense that you believe you are going to die of sorrow.

Sometimes the joy is so extreme that you believe you might explode with bliss.

Sometimes you feel so lost that you want to quit.

And sometimes you quit, for a while, at least.

But your longing is so unrelenting that you keep searching, you come back to the path.

And sometimes the path is so easy, you see all the signs, you hear all the messages.

The path is so clear that you laugh at yourself at how easy it is.

Patience didn’t come to me overnight.

Patience came to me because I have practiced being patient.

Because life has asked off me to practice patience.

Because often when I have lost all hope, there is yet another sign, another turn in the path from which I can see the light easier.

In my darkest moments, I have always found light in the places that I least expected it.

So I have learned to trust and soften and keep walking the path with patience and faith that my heart will take me to the place where I am meant to be.

Me dices que admiras mi paciencia.

Me imagino que te preguntarás cómo llegué a ser así.

El camino es largo, arduo y sinuoso.

Te lo puedo decir, porque lo he andado.

A veces, el dolor es tan intenso que crees que te vas a morir de pena.

A veces, la alegría es tan extrema que crees que podrías explotar de dicha.

A veces te sientes tan perdido que quieres renunciar.

Y a veces renuncias, por un tiempo, al menos.

Pero tu anhelo es tan implacable que sigues buscando, vuelves al camino.

Y a veces el camino es tan fácil, ves todas las señales, escuchas todos los mensajes.

El camino es tan claro que te ríes de ti mismo de lo fácil que es.

La paciencia no vino a mí de la noche a la mañana.

La paciencia vino a mí porque he practicado ser paciente.

Porque la vida me ha pedido que practique paciencia.

Porque a menudo, cuando he perdido toda esperanza, hay otra señal, otro giro en el camino desde el que puedo ver la luz más fácilmente.

En los momentos mas oscuros, siempre he encontrado luz en los lugares que menos esperaba.

Así que he aprendido a confiar y suavizarme y a seguir caminando por el camino con paciencia y fe en que mi corazón me llevará al lugar donde debo estar.